If you are driving a personal vehicle and you refuse to submit to a PBT it is only a civil infraction. However, it is much more serious if you are driving a commercial vehicle. Refusal of a Preliminary Breath Test (PBT) in a commercial vehicle is a 93-day misdemeanor and or a fine of up to $1,000.00. This is before the Secretary of State imposes its licensing restrictions. In order to keep you out of jail, save you money, and preserve your livelihood it is imperative to retain an experienced attorney. An experienced attorney can investigate the cause for the stop and preliminary breath test. Through negotiation with Prosecutors or the City Attorney assigned to your case, we can attempt to get the charges reduced, modified, and/or dismissed. Additionally we can attempt to get you sentenced pursuant to a diversionary program so that once you have completed a term of probation or other court terms the charge will be removed from your record. We can ever represent you in a Driver’s License Restoration hearing for the Secretary of State.
Charged with Commercial Driver CDL Refusal to Submit to PBT Michigan? To retain Garmo & Kiste, PLC, for assistance in these matters call us at (248) 398-7100 for a free consultation or contact us with a private message. We are experienced Michigan attorneys with offices in Troy, MI.