Overweight Truck Ticket Michigan? We can help!
How is weight determined?
Michigan has a unique system to determine truck weight. Michigan determines weight based on maximum axle loadings, not gross vehicle weight (GVW). Axle loading is the weight on a single axle. Michigan allows for the use of more axles and less axle loadings, for a higher gross vehicle weight than other states.
If the axles are less than 3 ½ feet apart, the maximum axle load should not be more than 9,000 pounds. If the axles are more than 3 1/2 and less than 9 feet apart, the maximum axle load should not be more than 13,000 pounds. If the axles are 9 feet or more apart, the maximum axle load should not be more than 19,000 pounds.
For more information about Overweight Truck Ticket Michigan, traffic law or to retain Garmo & Kiste, PLC call us at (248) 398-7100 for a free consultation or contact us with a private message.
How to avoid being ticketed:
The Michigan Department of Transportation (MDOT) can issue special permits for trucks that exceed the maximum size or weight limit allowed by law. Permits are usually given to vehicles that cannot reasonably divide, reduce, or rearrange their load to meet the statutory maximums provided by law. Permits will not be approved if the load consists of more than one item and if the wheel load exceeds 700 pounds per inch of tire tread width. A single trip permit for a load that is over dimension and/or over legal axle weight is $50.00.
In Michigan, there is a seasonal period that is in effect during the months of March, April, and May. During this period, the maximum axle load allowed on concrete pavements is reduced by 25% and the maximum axle load allowed on nonconcrete pavements is reduced by 35%.
Overweight Truck Ticket Michigan: What can happen if your truck is overweight?
A police officer that believes that the vehicle’s load, weight, or height is in violation of the law can require the driver to stop, allowing the officer to investigate. The officer may use a portable or stationary scale to determine if the vehicle is indeed in violation of the law.
Penalties for an overweight vehicle vary depending on the amount of pounds of excess weight per axle. The owner or person who allows the truck to be overweight is responsible for a civil infraction. Under the Michigan Vehicle Code (MCL 257.724), the penalties are as follows:
- 3 cents per pound for each pound of excess weight over 1,000 pounds
- 6 cents per pound for each pound of excess weight over 2,000 pounds
- 9 cents per pound for each pound of excess weight over 3,000 pounds
- 12 cents per pound for each pound of excess weight over 4,000 pounds
- 15 cents per pound for each pound of excess weight over 5,000 pounds
- 20 cents per pound for each pound of excess weight over 10,000 pounds.
- The court may also impose a $200.00 fine per axle (not exceeding 3 axles) if there is a misload of between 1,000 to 4,000 pounds on one or more axle.
- A $400.00 fine per axle (not exceeding 3 axles) may be imposed if there is a misload of between 4,000 to 8,000 pounds on one or more axle.
- If the driver or owner of the vehicle fails to stop or bypasses a weigh station, he/she is guilty of a misdemeanor.
The consequences of a ticket for an overweight vehicle can be thousands of dollars, for more information on how we can help, call us at (248) 398-7100 for a free consultation or contact us with a private message.