Do you need a Michigan Reckless Driving Lawyer
In the state of Michigan, reckless driving is classified as a criminal misdemeanor traffic offense. Under MCL 257.626(2), reckless driving is defined as “operating a vehicle upon a highway or a frozen public lake, stream, or pond or other place open to the general public, including, but not limited to, an area designated for the parking of motor vehicles, in willful or wanton disregard for the safety of persons or property.” This means the driver was aware of the possible risks to the safety of surrounding people or property, but ignored the risks anyways. Weaving through traffic at high speeds and even tailgating may be considered reckless. We can help, call our Michigan Reckless Driving Lawyer ‘s today.
Penalties for Reckless Driving
Reckless driving carries both criminal and administrative penalties. A person convicted of reckless driving may be sentenced to pay a fine of up to $500, serve up to 93 days in jail, or both. If your vehicle is not forfeited, it will be ordered immobilized. This offense also carries 6 points and abstracts on your driving record. If it is your first offense, it will result in a 90 day suspension of your driver’s license. If it is your second offense, it will result in your driver’s license being revoked, call us at (248) 398-7100 for a free consultation or contact us with a private message.
Reckless Driving Causing Serious Injury or Death
If you are charged with Reckless Driving Causing Serious Impairment of a Body Function or Reckless Driving Resulting in Death, the penalties are increased from a misdemeanor to a felony. Under MCL 257.626(3), a person who operates a vehicle that causes serious impairment of a body function to another person may be imprisoned for up to 5 years or pay a fine of not less than $1,000 or more than $5,000, or both. Under MCL 257.626(4), a person who operates a vehicle that causes the death of another person may be imprisoned for up to 15 years or pay a fine of not less than $2,500 or more than $10,000, or both. Immobilization or forfeiture of the vehicle to the state may also be required. Both offenses carry 6 points and abstract on your record.
Michigan Careless Driving
Even if you have not been convicted of reckless driving, you still may be found responsible for careless driving.
- According to MCL 257.626(b), a person may be found responsible of careless driving if he or she operates a vehicle “upon a highway or a frozen public lake, stream, or pond or other place open to the general public including an area designated for the parking of vehicles in a careless or negligent manner likely to endanger any person or property, but without wantonness or recklessness.”
The penalties are less severe than reckless driving. Whereas reckless driving is a criminal charge which carries 6 points on one’s record and possible jail time, careless driving is a civil infraction and carries 3 points on one’s driver’s license, along with fines and costs.
These offenses can have significant repercussions. For more information about Reckless or careless driving and to retain Garmo & Kiste, PLC call us at (248) 398-7100 for a free consultation or contact us with a private message.
Hire the best! Michigan Reckless Driving Lawyer