Have you been charged with Driving While License Suspended or Revoked in the 43RD District Court Ferndale Michigan?
Driving While License Suspended or Revoked is the 43rd District Court’s most common charge and is a misdemeanor offense (according to MCL 257.904(3)(a)) that carries a maximum potential jail sentence of up to 93 days, and/or a possible fine of up to $500, for a first time offender. In instances where the driver has a prior conviction for Driving While License Suspended, the Prosecutor usually charges the driver with Driving While License Suspended or Revoked Second or Subsequent Offense (MCL 257.904(3)(b)). If the offense is charged in this manner, the potential punishment increases to up to 1 year in jail, and/or a fine of up to $1,000.
Depending on the Court a Driving While License Suspended can be handled rather casually. This has led to a widespread misunderstanding that DWLS is a traffic infraction, when it is actually a misdemeanor that will appear on your criminal record. As a misdemeanor, you may be sentenced up to 93-days in jail and/or a fine of $500.00. Subsequent charges carry higher penalties. In addition to criminal charges, there may be licensce ramifications.
Should your license be suspended or revoked for another reason, upon a conviction of Driving While License Suspended the Secretary of State will delay the date that your license will be eligible for restoration. Need a Ferndale Michigan DWLS Driving While License Suspended Lawyer? For more information about traffic law or to retain Garmo & Kiste, PLC call us at (248) 398-7100 for a free consultation or contact us with a private message.
For information about traffic crimes see the links below:
- Superdrunk/High BAC
- Operating within the Presence of Drugs
- Fake or Forged ID
- Leaving the Scene of an Accident
- Drunk Driving
- Michigan Driver’s License Restoration / Appeal