When does a Personal Protection Order (PPO) go into effect?
A Personal Protection Order (PPO) goes into effect as soon as the judge signs it. The county clerk’s office is responsible for providing a copy of the order to the local police agency so that it can be entered into the Law Enforcement Information Network (LEIN), who will also notify the respondent. An individual who violates a Personal Protection Order (PPO) can be jailed for a violation of the Personal Protection Order (PPO) for maximum of 93 days and may be fined up to $500.00.
For more information about Defeating / Terminating a Personal Protection Order (PPO), Victim’s Rights, and Civil Suits stemming from Criminal Acts or to retain Garmo & Kiste, PLC, call us at (248) 398-7100 for a free consultation or contact us with a private message. PPO Violation – Michigan PPO Violation Attorneys
Enforcing a Personal Protection Order (PPO)
A Personal Protection Order (PPO) order is enforceable anywhere in Michigan by any law enforcement agency, as soon as it is signed by a judge. If you violate a Personal Protection Order (PPO) in some place other than Michigan, you will be subject to the enforcement remedies and penalties of that other state, Indian tribe, or territory. A violation of a Personal Protection Order (PPO) does not have to occur in the presence of a law enforcement officer, and that officer can make a warrantless arrest of a PPO Respondent if the officer has “reasonable cause” to believe that they violated the PPO. Michigan statutes clearly states that criminal sanctions are to be imposed in addition to whatever criminal penalties apply for a separate criminal offense. See MCL 600.2950(23) and 600.2950a(20). Michigan restraining order conditions will normally forbid you from:
- Entering onto Premises
- Entering into Place of Work
- Threatening to Physically Harm or Kill
- Possession of a Firearm
- Accessing the Phone Number or Address of the Petitioner
- Contacting the Petitioner via Phone, Mail, Email, or other Means
- Assaulting, Attacking, or Beating
- Harassing or Stalking
If you violate a Personal Protection Order (PPO) in Michigan and you have been notified of the order, either orally or by formal service, any law enforcement agency can arrest you. If you have a Personal Protection Order (PPO) against another individual who you believe has violated the PPO, you can file motion seeking he or she be arrested. In order to do this you must have proof that the individual was served with or notified of the order. If you are arrested, the court will set a date, time, and place for a hearing on the charges against you. If a hearing is not held within 72 hours, the respondent may be released from jail after posting bond until the hearing is held.
If you violate a PPO, you could face up to 93 days in jail, a fine of $500, and additional criminal penalties. Working with one of our lawyers as soon as possible could significantly increase your chances of achieving a great outcome and avoiding criminal punishment. We will work to build an individualized strategy for your unique case, and we know that every PPO in Michigan has distinct conditions resulting from a unique situation. We will objectively defend you in pre-file, trial, or post-conviction stages of any PPO case. Contact Garmo & Kiste, PLC at (248) 398-7100 or contact us with a private message right now to fight PPO violation charges. PPO Violation – Michigan PPO Violation Attorneys.
What happens to my guns?
According to MI state law, if you have a Personal Protection Order (PPO) that was issued by a state court against you, you cannot purchase or possess a firearm / gun. There are however exceptions to this rule. The attorneys of Garmo & Kiste, PLC have helped their clients combat, defeat, and extinguish personal protection orders (PPO) / restraining orders, and maintain their right to purchase or possess a firearm/gun. PPO Violation – Michigan PPO Violation Attorneys For a free consultation concerning your particular situation, call Garmo & Kiste, PLC at (248) 398-7100 or contact us with a private message.